FordFusionClub.com banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
"This oil leak is common to the Taurus/Sable, Fusion/Milan, Jaguar S, Lincoln LS, and Mazda 6 models with the 3.0 Duratec V6 along with the Escape/MPV. As a mechanic I can't see doing what is involved to remove the timing chain cover on these vehicles as it would cost a good portion of what many of these now older cars that have the leak are worth. They sealed small areas of the timing cover where castings mate called "T" joints with RTV sealant when the engines were made, and used a multi-piece gasket. The gaskets tend to shrink and the RTV deteriorates with heat/cooling cycles over the years and small oil leaks develop. They run down the engine on to the bottom front of the oil pan and drip on to the hot exhaust pipes below it. Leaks can also develop between the upper section of the block and the lower bearing section, which was sealed with a film of RTV only at manufacture. I have found that changing the oil with 5 quarts of high mileage oil and adding 1 quart of Lucas Engine Oil Stop Leak dramatically reduces the amount of oil leakage on these engines. The caveat is you have to do this for every oil change, but it's still no comparison in cost to having the gaskets replaced, which can cost anywhere from $1500-2000 today."

This is what mine is doing exactly as well! Go on and add the I4 2.3L to this theory as well. Piece of crap!

· Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
This car is leaking from every square inch of where this mechanic is saying. I think Ford should give a mandatory rebate to every owner of these cars to compensate for their stupid ways of sealing the things! Even if it were to make them go bankrupt. [email protected] a car when being put together shouldn't be tolerated...or legal!

· Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·