FordFusionClub.com banner

1 - 20 of 142 Posts

·
Registered
2,011 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I wanted to create this post/thread to hopefully quell some of the numerous HID-related threads we have. Most of this will be copy-pasted from my and other members. Obviously HIDs are a very subjective matter and we all have our opinions. I'm writing this in a hotel room while watching Ashens on YouTube and eating curly fries with nacho cheese and wearing pajamas. (Ahh, the single life). I am not an expert in this, but I have thrown enough money at shiny bits to feel I can write a long post.

First things first, as bbf will point out, technically any non-OEM HID kit is illegal and carries the risk of damaging your car. You are trusting the task of converting 12v DC to 24,000v AC to a device cranked out in China for a couple pennies. Think about how much care goes into a ballast that can be designed, manufactured, marketed, and shipped for only $10 and still make a profit. Especially keep in mind that our headlamps are powered by the SJB, which happens to handle everything else on the car. Damaging the SJB is not a cheap fix.

Universal information
This is all the stuff that isn't specific to our vehicles, but HIDs in general.

Reflector vs Projector Housings
The older style headlamp assembly is "Reflector", similar to a flashlight. The back is a shiny dish to 'reflect' the light out.
The newer glass circle is 'Projector', which uses the curvature of the glass with a metal cutoff shield inside to project the light.
The 2006-2009 Ford Fusion is a reflector assembly. 2010+ Fusions, all Milans, and all MKZs are Projector.

Plug-and-Play vs Retrofit