FordFusionClub.com banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a six speaker car system with a pioneer reciever.
-I want components in the front and coaxial speakers in the back powered by an amp.

I was looking at speakers at the same price range and some had twice the RMS rating compared to others.
-Provided I have an amp, powering each of the speakers to their highest RMS rating, is it better to get a speaker with a higher RMS rating??? Or is it just more sound, not always better quality speakers??

·
Registered
833 Posts
I am not an expert by any means, but I do know that you want to match the speakers to the headunit/amp that is driving them. If , for instance, you have speakers that are rated from 50-300 watts and you headunit/amp is only 50 watts, then you will not be driving them efficiently. Checkout Crutchfield.com (link below)they have a great weath of info and reasonable prices. In general you'll want to look at the following criteria. This happens to be from the Infinity Reference 5010cs (on sale right now for $90.00) Give them a call they are usually more then glad to help

power range: 2-75 watts RMS (225 watts peak power)
sensitivity: 91 dB (higher is better for low power systems)

http://www.crutchfieldadvisor.com/learningcenter/car/speakers_component_wtl.html

·
Registered
14 Posts