FordFusionClub.com banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When it comes to car stereo, I know next to nothing. Bring me your medical problems and I will help you, but car stereo and RMS and all this stuff is kind of overwhelming.

My question is with RMS. I want to put 6x9's in the back, and I have settled on either the Polk MMC690's or the DB690's. Problem is that both of these speakers are 100W RMS and my factory deck is only 30W RMS (if I'm lucky). If I were to get these 100W RMS speakers and DID NOT AMPLIFY, will they still SOUND good? In other words, will I get the full range that the speakers were meant to put out, or will I have to amplify in order to do any good?

·
Registered
359 Posts
your head only pushes out (i think we settled on this) about 20 watts rms per channel. Im not an electrician, but if your splicing into the speaker level without amplyfying it, simply put, its not good at all. You won't get the performance you would with $150 amp. You could even damage your speakers because you are under powering them. It is ALWAYS better to match your speakers up with an amp that can handle a little more power than the speakers.

·
Registered
221 Posts
Ok I understand you want to put 6X9s on the rear deck.
Do you audiophile system or stock??
Are you adding 6x9s or replacing stock factory??

Better yet, what are you trying to gain from this audio upgrade?? More bass? More/louder sound?? What music you listen to?

Help me to try and help you. Feel free to PM me for any questions.

·
Registered
1,444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
pkoko - I don't have the audiophile system. I have nothing back there right now. I think I'm going to add some 6x9's though, but I will NOT replace my factory deck (this isn't because of ME, it's because of the other 50% that I'm married to).