FordFusionClub.com banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,662 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks to Mapinpa for the info!

[quote author=mapinpa link=topic=143268.msg3119378#msg3119378 date=1242173434]
Detailed Instructions for resetting TPMS Sensors:

Part Number:



What's in the Box:



Before you start, make sure your tires have the proper amount of air.
To get the Sensors in the learning mode. Just follow this on/off key sequence.
1. Start with the key in off position and press and release brake pedal.
2. Turn the key to on position (not start) and after the first chime turn it to the off position.
3. Turn the key to on position (not start) and after the first chime turn it to the off position.
4. Turn the key to on position (not start) and press and release brake pedal and turn key to off position..
5. Turn the key to on position (not start) and after the first chime turn to off position.
6. Turn the key to on position (not start) and after the first chime turn to off position.
7. Turn the key to on position (not start) and leave in on position. Horn will chirp once and the message center will display the following message:



Take your sensor and hold it opposite the valve stem and point the sensor to the inside of the rim and press the button. In approx. 5 seconds the sensor resets, the horn will chirp and your the message center will notify you to train the next sensor.







Do the same to the RR and the LR wheels. After the LR is done the message center will display the following:



If the Training is not successful, the horn will chirp twice and you must repeat the training process.

That's it! Takes less than 2 minutes to do the entire process.
[/quote]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
464 Posts
Hey I just "discovered" on the 2010 Hybrid that the wheel sensors are at the same spot on the rim as the valve stems instead of opposite the stem.

Same procedure, just put the programming tool on the sidewall next to the valve stem.

I just pumped the tires up to 44psi for mileage and I wanted the sensors reset to detect a loss from 44psi instead of the factory 35~psi.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
619 Posts
[quote author=aggoodin link=topic=144972.msg3176302#msg3176302 date=1244920899]
I just pumped the tires up to 44psi for mileage and I wanted the sensors reset to detect a loss from 44psi instead of the factory 35~psi.
[/quote]

Just to clear this up for anyone else thinking about this, the pressure inside the tire when you set the sensors means nothing. The low cutoff that triggers the light is fixed in the computer memory, it's not a relative loss.

From the shop manual:

The Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) monitors the air pressure of all 4 road tires. The wheel-mounted tire pressure sensors transmit via radio frequency signals, to the SJB. TPMS functionality is integral to the SJB. These transmissions are sent approximately every 60 seconds when the vehicle speed exceeds 32 km/h (20 mph). The TPMS function compares each tire pressure sensor transmission against a low-pressure limit. If it has been determined that the tire pressure has fallen below this limit, the SJB communicates this on the vehicle communication bus to the Instrument Cluster (IC). The IC then illuminates the TPMS indicator and displays the appropriate message(s) in the message center (if equipped).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
464 Posts
[quote author=Waldo link=topic=144972.msg3212901#msg3212901 date=1246908037]
[quote author=aggoodin link=topic=144972.msg3176302#msg3176302 date=1244920899]
I just pumped the tires up to 44psi for mileage and I wanted the sensors reset to detect a loss from 44psi instead of the factory 35~psi.
[/quote]

Just to clear this up for anyone else thinking about this, the pressure inside the tire when you set the sensors means nothing. The low cutoff that triggers the light is fixed in the computer memory, it's not a relative loss.

From the shop manual:

The TPMS function compares each tire pressure sensor transmission against a low-pressure limit. If it has been determined that the tire pressure has fallen below this limit, the SJB communicates this on the vehicle communication bus to the Instrument Cluster (IC). The IC then illuminates the TPMS indicator and displays the appropriate message(s) in the message center (if equipped).
[/quote]

I don't see that this says the lower limit is hard programmed in.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
619 Posts
It also doesn't say anywhere in the instructions that the tire pressure needs to be set accuratly before the programming, ie it doesn't matter.

It's easy to prove, just drop one of your tires down to 30psi and wait for the light to come on. I'll bet you $1 it won't.

(PS, the tires are at about 40psi in the plant when the sensors are programmed the first time, yet Ford tells the dealers to drop the pressure to the door placard and does not tell them to re-program the sensors)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
309 Posts
Fatabbot - Apparently on the '10s the system has been "dumbed down". The tpms no longer has to know which wheel is low, and the display does not appear to say anything other than "Low Tire Pressure" and the idiot light on the dash illuminates.

I installed four different wheels/tires on my 2010 SEL and couldn't figure out why there was no warning. I am still researching this, but it appears the computer is happy if it sees four sensors and doesn't need location programming.

Has anyone else commented on this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
309 Posts
Wow - I spoke waaaay too soon. Not more than 20 miles after I changed out the wheels (the new wheels have tpms in them) the display lit up with a TPMS fault.

I'm off to the dealer to buy one of the sensors mentioned at the beginning of this thread. I'll progam the wheels tonight and post an update.

And I thought the 2010 didn't need all this ....... joke's on me!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
309 Posts
Another update -

For 2010 Ford changed the tpms sensors from the banded type to the valve stem type. I am buying a set off ebay and will have them installed.

This may also be a problem - the Ford tpms / valve assemblies are apparently shorter than the aftermarket type. I may have to move the Ford sensors to different valve stems to work.

This is getting to be an expensive exercise, getting the tpms fault to go out. But I look at the stock SEL wheels and the SAP wheels, and the SAP win hands down. I'm glad I made the switch - too bad Ford didn't offer the SAP wheels at the beginning of the model run. I could have done all this for $400!

By the way, the stock wheels on the 2010 SEL are 44 mm offset.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
LOL I dont know why everyone is going to all this trouble with buying the sensor reset tool. I just drove past my local for dealer and saw one of the techs on his smoke break and said if he reset it I would buy him a pack of smokes. I switched from the stock 16" rims to the sport 18" rims. I am very glad I did. The car handles a ton better and looks better too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
78 Posts
LOL. Pretty soon a pack of smokes will cost more than a sensor! :noclue:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
840 Posts
Has this been confirmed to work on the new 2010 wheels sensors? Dealer wants $20 to program the new sensors for my snows.. and this part number is $37 at the dealer. Please advise.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
5,730 Posts
[quote author=BowDown link=topic=144972.msg3362181#msg3362181 date=1255102034]
Has this been confirmed to work on the new 2010 wheels sensors? Dealer wants $20 to program the new sensors for my snows.. and this part number is $37 at the dealer. Please advise.
[/quote]

Hi BowDown. :wavey: While I can not verify it myself (2007 MKZ, no TPMS), at least one other member here has stated it does.

However, you need to remember that the sensors on the 2010 models are located on the valve stems (inside the wheel). So instead of placing the reset tool 180 degrees opposite the valve stems, on the 2010's you place it right at the valve stems.

Hope this information helps.

Good luck. :cheers:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
840 Posts
Well this is also the same guy that stated he inflated to 44psi to recalibrate the sensors to determine his pressure as Home pressure. :lol:
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
5,730 Posts
[quote author=BowDown link=topic=144972.msg3362257#msg3362257 date=1255105169]
Well this is also the same guy that stated he inflated to 44psi to recalibrate the sensors to determine his pressure as Home pressure. :lol:
[/quote]

Hi BowDown. :wavey: I am not exactly sure who/what you are referring to (or if you were joking).

I do not recall who it was that stated the same reset tool works on the 2008-2009 and the 2010 sensors. Who are you referring to?

Good luck. :cheers:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
285 Posts
[quote author=bbf2530 link=topic=144972.msg3362287#msg3362287 date=1255106365]
[quote author=BowDown link=topic=144972.msg3362257#msg3362257 date=1255105169]
Well this is also the same guy that stated he inflated to 44psi to recalibrate the sensors to determine his pressure as Home pressure. :lol:
[/quote]

Hi BowDown. :wavey: I am not exactly sure who/what you are referring to (or if you were joking).

I do not recall who it was that stated the same reset tool works on the 2008-2009 and the 2010 sensors. Who are you referring to?

Good luck. :cheers:
[/quote]

It works with 2010s too.

cheers

Fil
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
464 Posts
[quote author=BowDown link=topic=144972.msg3362257#msg3362257 date=1255105169]
Well this is also the same guy that stated he inflated to 44psi to recalibrate the sensors to determine his pressure as Home pressure. :lol:
[/quote]

Yes the 09 and previous reset tool works for the 10's. Why would I lie?

And
No one has shown differently, other than to say it works another way because they say so.

It may work differently but I think along the KISS, Keep It Simple Stupid, line of thought. It doesn't make sense for the sensor to be calibrated to "x" psi. That would be too complicated to manufacture and calibrate each sensor and then have different sensors for every car because every car has a different recommended pressure for the tires.

It would be a lot easier for it to reset, with the tool, to whatever the relative pressure is in the tire and detect a 25% drop, than to know a certain hard programmed or calibrated psi.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
619 Posts
[quote author=aggoodin link=topic=144972.msg3362885#msg3362885 date=1255134023]

It may work differently but I think along the KISS, Keep It Simple Stupid, line of thought. It doesn't make sense for the sensor to be calibrated to "x" psi. That would be too complicated to manufacture and calibrate each sensor and then have different sensors for every car because every car has a different recommended pressure for the tires.

It would be a lot easier for it to reset, with the tool, to whatever the relative pressure is in the tire and detect a 25% drop, than to know a certain hard programmed or calibrated psi.
[/quote]

But your thinking is all backwards. It's not the sensor that determines when to set off the message, it's the computer inside the car. The sensor just sends the pressure it's seeing. It's up to the computer to determine when to set off the warning. This computer is very easily programmed at the end of the assembly line to whatever limit Ford wants (it knows which tires are on the car and the correct pressure). Then the computer is never changed through the life of the car and the limit will never change regardless of how many different sensors are programmed to the car. This is actually far simpler than what you are describing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Or to keep it simpler yet...just check the tire pressure with a gauge once a week and not worry about the sensors, calibrating, computers, etc.


Reminds me of the old story about how the NASA spent millions getting a pen that would flow ink in zero-gravity so our astronauts could write in space. The Soviet govt simply gave their cosmonauts a pencil and saved their money.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
464 Posts
[quote author=Lone Wolff link=topic=144972.msg3373205#msg3373205 date=1255746667]
Or to keep it simpler yet...just check the tire pressure with a gauge once a week and not worry about the sensors, calibrating, computers, etc.


Reminds me of the old story about how the NASA spent millions getting a pen that would flow ink in zero-gravity so our astronauts could write in space. The Soviet govt simply gave their cosmonauts a pencil and saved their money.
[/quote]

Well the whole stupid system is built into every car produced since September 2007 so we might as well understand it because our "protect the people from ourselves" liberal government made it law.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
840 Posts
Update: I've got 1500 miles on my winter tires w/used sensors and I have no warning lights for TPMS. No reprogramming was necessary on my 2010 Sport.
 
1 - 20 of 82 Posts
Top