FordFusionClub.com banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,520 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I was baking open my headlights I thought I would try to snap as many photos as possible and do a small write-up for you all. This is my first time ever doing this but since I got it open with these methods I'll pass them on to you. As of (4/4/11) I have only baked one headlight so if things change or I find a quicker way to open the second headlight I will update this thread.

Heat Temperatures (2nd Try, 4/6/11)

215 Degrees - 20 Minutes
265 Degrees - 10 Minutes (Three Times)
215 Degrees - 20 Minutes
265 Degrees - 10 Minutes
215 Degrees - 20 Minutes (Till you open it, took an additional three times)

Suggested Heat/Time
265 Degrees - 10 Minutes until the top portion is open down to the side where the mounting brackets are located.
215 Degrees - 20 Minutes for the bottom portion until it's completely open.

The reason for the odd temp/time changes was more to experiment with what worked. I found that when opening the top corner portion of the light it is easier to pry apart at the 265 degree mark for 8-9 Minutes. Once I get to the bottom portion it would stick with the lower temp/longer time. Stick to the 20 minute mark in that case, I found a big difference between heating it at 15 minutes and 20 minutes.

Tool wise, I prefer using a puddy knife for the top portion and eventually using a flathead screwdriver for the bottom portion.

Tools I used: (Not pictured - Needle Nose Pliers)

1. First things first, get the oven preheated to 250-275 degrees.

Prepare the light for the oven. Remove as much as possible (especially metal).
Twist out your "low" bulb.

Remove bulb from socket by pulling out the tabs on each side gently.

Next, remove your "high-beam" bulb. Slightly loosen both screws just enough that you can twist the bulb assembly to the left which will free it.