FordFusionClub.com banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anybody have any issues with their clutch...??

Mine's been acting up a little the last few weeks; and I only have 23,000+ miles on it.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Basically, I noticed that I have to let it out more and more before it starts to grab, each week.

I've been driving 5-spds for 10+ years and have never had a clutch react this poorly this soon.
I don't try to do any burnouts or anything crazy. It's mostly just a daily driver. I just made my 16th payment.

I had my buddy who has a V6 fusion test drive mine last week. I didn't tell him anything about the clutch. I just asked him to drive it and tell me if anything seem funny. We didn't get 1/4 mile away and that was his response too. That he had to let it out really far. He drove it last year before it hit 10,000 mile and his comment last week; was that there was a significant difference since then.

I want to take it to the dealership, but they will just say that it is due to wear-tear or driver neglect.

·
Registered
613 Posts
Some people have been complaining about the clutch wear.

I suggest you go after an aftermarket clutch upgrade. Thats what I plan on doing, and I also have been driving stick for 10+ years, and I know it will happen earlier on this trans than many 5spds. Its a good tranny, and I have had this trans in other cars, but for some reason, the clutch is weaker in our car.

Exeddy stage 1 or Clutchmasters stage 1 is what I'm looking at. Big upgrade over a stock clutch in all aspects. Dual it with some premium synthetic lube, like MTL-90 from redline, and this tranny is pretty solid for a long time.

·
Registered
244 Posts
I haven't noticed any long-term clutch issues, as I just got the car in July with 14,000 miles on it. How much would said aftermarket clutch upgrade cost? I'd like to put a shortshifter in there in addition.

·
Registered
371 Posts
Hi VD,