FordFusionClub.com banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm new to being a Fusion owner, as well as to the forum. I bought my car from a guy after the engine mount studs broke, and the engine... well fell onto the subframe. all 3 mounts, ps pressure hose, and pax axle later, it runs and drives well.

The transmission has been suspect since I got it on the road, the fluid looks like oil so I poured a can of seafoam trans treatment in it, which seems to be helping, I intend to change the fluid soon with Idemitsu M5. I'm noticing though, that there is what could be described as a shudder/wiggle almost exclusively in 2nd, and the first second or 2 of shifting into 3rd. It feels like a loose axle, but I've never run across a loose axle being so gear dependent for a vibration.

Anyone have some insight? TIA

·
Super Moderator
5,833 Posts
Hello all,

I'm new to being a Fusion owner, as well as to the forum. I bought my car from a guy after the engine mount studs broke, and the engine... well fell onto the subframe. all 3 mounts, ps pressure hose, and pax axle later, it runs and drives well.

The transmission has been suspect since I got it on the road, the fluid looks like oil so I poured a can of seafoam trans treatment in it, which seems to be helping, I intend to change the fluid soon with Idemitsu M5. I'm noticing though, that there is what could be described as a shudder/wiggle almost exclusively in 2nd, and the first second or 2 of shifting into 3rd. It feels like a loose axle, but I've never run across a loose axle being so gear dependent for a vibration.

Anyone have some insight? TIA
HInotyet. The first thing you need to do is completely change that transmission fluid, using the correct specification fluid as per the Ford maintenance specifications (listed in your Owners Manual.
If you do not have your copy, you can download the PDF version here: https://www.fleet.ford.com/parts-service/resources/owner-manuals/