FordFusionClub.com banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reading old posts with the search feature for an hour.
I can't seem to find this specific answer.
Has anyone actually TRIED a 235/50/18 to see if it actually rubs?

One reason I ask is I worked as a designer for Ford, 29 years. When we designed tire clearance envelopes we always had tire chains on the tires. This made the tires higher and wider. The envelopes were designed using the tallest widest tires that particular came with. An Envelope is the physical size any part of the tire could be at any part of suspension travel and turning capability.
The 1.3" tall difference is about 5/8" higher off the rim (radius). Remember radius is half the diameter.
The 10mm difference in width is 5 mm per side or less than 1/4".
I am pretty sure they will fit.
I would like to hear from someone that actually TRIED 235/50/18 tires on their Fusion, not just someone thinking they won't fit.

Is there anyone here that works at or knows someone that works at a tire store and can check this out?
Another reason I would like to know as well as the original poster, is I'm thinking of doing this to my 08 SEL Sport.
I was looking at these tires as they do everything well according to tirerack. I want smooth QUIET tires (not like the RS-A's I have) that give good winter traction. Check the surveys to see the ratings. All very high.
http://www.tirerack....ECDWS&tab=Sizes

Yeah I know they aren't cheap. The stock size 225/45/18 is cheaper but I want more rubber between the rim and the road. The 5/8" there would help the ride and help from smacking a rim on a pot hole.
I'm not into drag racing this car, I don't care if it is slower out of the hole etc. I want a bigger diameter for better mpg on the highway. YES I know the speedo will be 5% off. I can live with that no problem. I'm not a speeder. I want smooth riding Quiet tires. I like the 18" wheels on my Sport.