FordFusionClub.com banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 07 fusion with 16" wheels, I dislike the narrow 205/60/16 tires. They roll far too easy and don't offer the ride I like. I prefer a bit more road feel and NO tire roll. I am a sports car guy and have had several Trans Am's with 245/50/16's that offered a ride that I liked and had very little roll.

I DO NOT want to go with a bigger wheel, I don't like big wheels, think they look silly and aren't road friendly.

I am curious if anyone has used a wider 16" tire and how far I can go. I'm sure I could probably get away with a 225/50/16 but how about a 245/50/16 or possibly a 245/45/16? I don't want to go with too low of a profile because I drive somewhat aggressively and live in Michigan with millions of potholes and craters.

I'm not concerned about speedometer calibrations or any of that since I am a Ford technician and have a scan tool that can change tire parameters, plus I have a performance programmer for the car which can also set tire size by .25" increments.

·
Super Moderator
5,723 Posts
[quote author=hgffrank link=topic=185957.msg3927228#msg3927228 date=1297102242]
I have 07 fusion with 16" wheels, I dislike the narrow 205/60/16 tires. They roll far too easy and don't offer the ride I like. I prefer a bit more road feel and NO tire roll. I am a sports car guy and have had several Trans Am's with 245/50/16's that offered a ride that I liked and had very little roll.

I DO NOT want to go with a bigger wheel, I don't like big wheels, think they look silly and aren't road friendly.

I am curious if anyone has used a wider 16" tire and how far I can go. I'm sure I could probably get away with a 225/50/16 but how about a 245/50/16 or possibly a 245/45/16? I don't want to go with too low of a profile because I drive somewhat aggressively and live in Michigan with millions of potholes and craters.