2010+ ecoboost owners beware - FordFusionClub.com : The #1 Ford Fusion Forum

FMVPerformance.com is the premier Ford Fusion Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 02-12-2010, 08:10 AM   #1
hgffrank
Moped Rider

Default 2010+ ecoboost owners beware

I am a Ford master tech and we were sent communications from Ford that they are preparing to void warranties or place warranty restrictions on ANY ecoboost equipped vehicles(Fusion/Milan)that have been altered for performance reasons. If you alter these vehicles your treading on dangerous ground, be smart and wait until the warranty is run out or understand that your likely to lose your coverage. Here is the exact letter sent to ALL Ford dealers:

To: All Ford and Lincoln Mercury Dealerships
Subject: Aftermarket Modifications Warranty Cancellation

BACKGROUND
Aftermarket companies (referred to as "tuners&quot attempt to increase an engine's torque and power output beyond the design limits which may cause powertrain failures. This is often accomplished by modifying the engine calibration (referred to as "chipping&quot but may also include modifications or adjustments to other components. Per the Warranty Guide that is provided to the customer and the Warranty & Policy Manual, failures resulting from modifications are not warranted by Ford Motor Company.

All powertrains are subject to warranty cancellation if a modification causes a failure. For the 3.5L EcoBoost technical service bulletin TSB 10-2-6 was published to enable your technicians to determine:

If a powertrain failure resulted from an unauthorized modification
If the engine, transmission, or entire powertrain warranty should be cancelled